I live in a pile of laundry.

I really think I do, live in a pile of laundry, that is. It’s nonstop, no matter how many loads I do, there’s always more! I suppose with eight people and two dogs that will happen. I feel like a broken record every time I throw another load in. I’m certain they don’t even listen to me anymore. Someone standing outside the laundry room new to the shenanigans might find themselves rather confused, or perhaps with an eyebrow raised at the things I say.

In my laundry journey, I’ve learned a few things to make my life easier. Perhaps one or two will help you too!

When we first started our journey (and the kids were teeny tots), I tried to continue my so-called perfect separation of laundry piles. Darks, colors, reds, jeans, towels, whites, blah. Then I discovered Shout Color Catchers! Seriously, go get yourself some of these things. I can put all our regular clothes in ONE load. No bleeding of colors, ever. You don’t even have to use a full sheet! If you don’t have any new clothes for the particular load, use half a sheet (I use half a sheet in every regular clothes load – just in case!).

Thanks to being able to combine all the clothes in one load, I only need three baskets for dirty clothes, score! The kids bring their baskets and empty into the three community baskets. I also have three baskets for clean clothes, one for boys, one for girls, one for parents. I lay the clothes flat in each basket and the kids can check the baskets once or twice a day to get their things quickly (don’t let this fool you, I still have to remind them!).

I used to grab handfuls of clothes and throw them into the dryer, as is. I learned shaking out clothing pieces as they come out of the wash to ensure they’re separated and not shoving them into the dryer reduces the drying time immensely.

I used to throw away the dryer sheets when the loads were done. Now, I use the dryer sheets to clean the lint filter, do a quick dusting job, or wipe down blinds/windowsills.

I dilute our fabric softener to about 1/4 water and 3/4 softener. It still works just as effectively and it lasts a lot longer. I backup the fresh scent with Purex Crystals when I need to but find I use them a lot because the scent lasts longer than it ever did even with non-diluted fabric softener, even days later.

Did you find anything that might be useful for you? What tips to you have to help make laundry easier?

Later y’all!

Annaliesa

Leave a Reply

